Innovation

|

Innover pour préparer l'avenir

L'innovation est au coeur de l'offre de motoriste de Safran Aircraft Engines. La société y consacre d'importants moyens pour proposer à ses clients les solutions de propulsion les plus performantes. Développer des moteurs toujours plus innovants, économiques et respectueux de l'environnement est le défi quotidien de nos 2600 experts en RTD (Recherche, Technologie et Développement). Une ambition partagée avec les compagnies aériennes, les forces armées, les avionneurs et les opérateurs d'avion d'affaires pour améliorer en permanence les produits d'aujourd'hui et imaginer ceux de demain.

Notre ambition

Recherche et politique Environnementale

Dans le domaine aéronautique, le développement de nouvelles technologies associé à la réduction de l'empreinte environnementale est un enjeu politique, social et économique majeur. Ces préoccupations sont depuis longtemps intégrées chez Safran Aircraft Engines dans toutes les opérations qui accompagnent le moteur depuis sa création jusqu'à son recyclage.

Safran Aircraft Engines consacre une grande partie de son budget R&T à des programmes visant à diminuer l'impact de l'aviation sur l'environnement. Ses travaux de recherche s'inscrivent en grande partie dans le cadre des objectifs européens définis par l'ACARE (Advisory Council for Aviation Research and Innovation in Europe). Safran Aircraft Engines améliore constamment ses produits et services par l'apport de nouvelles technologies, avec une marge significative de façon à anticiper l'atteinte des objectifs généraux de l'aviation en matière environnementale. Ces objectifs font l'objet d'une coordination au niveau international avec les principaux acteurs de l'industrie de l'aviation, constructeurs de moteurs ou d'avions, compagnies aériennes, aéroports, services de navigation aérienne, etc. :

  • Safran et CFM International sont représentés au sein de l'ATAG (Air Transport Action group) pour définir la stratégie du transport aérien, maintenir sa croissance et sa compétitivité.
  • Safran Aircraft Engines s'implique dans l'élaboration et la mise en oeuvre des nouvelles normes internationales de l'OACI (Organisation de l'Aviation Civile Internationale), et travaille dans de nombreux réseaux thématiques français, européens et internationaux pour la recherche.
  • Safran Aircraft Engines s'investit aussi dans le remplacement des matériaux soumis aux réglementations européennes comme REACH visant à substituer ou contrôler les substances chimiques produites ou mises sur le marché en Europe.
  • Safran Aircraft Engines s'implique et supporte le développement des biocarburants durables. Il est notamment partenaire de l'initiative « Lab'line for the future » d'Air France qui se traduit par un vol régulier hebdomadaire d'Airbus A320 de Toulouse à Paris avec biocarburant.

La politique environnementale menée par Safran Aircraft Engines s'applique également à tous ses sites industriels. Elle vise notamment à réduire l'impact environnemental de ses installations industrielles en réduisant les consommations d'eau, d'énergie, en assurant le traitement des rejets, le tri des déchets, la réduction des Composés Organiques Volatiles et recherche des procédés plus « propres » dans le cadre d'une démarche d'amélioration continue supportée par une certification de type ISO 14001 ou OHSAS 18001.

Innovation et Recherche

Un portefeuille de

16 000
brevets dans le monde
En moyenne
450
inventions brevetées par an

Recherche et Technologie

Notre organisation

Développer des moteurs toujours plus innovants, économiques et respectueux de l'environnement est le défi quotidien des 2600 experts en RTD (Recherche, Technologie et Développement). Une ambition partagée avec les compagnies aériennes, les forces armées, les avionneurs et les opérateurs d'avion d'affaires pour améliorer en permanence les produits d'aujourd'hui et imaginer ceux de demain.

Safran Aircraft Engines délivre donc à ses clients tout son savoir-faire et son expertise : bureaux d'études maîtrisant les technologies les plus avancées, méthodologies éprouvées, réseaux d'experts, etc. Elle protège ce capital essentiel en menant une politique de propriété intellectuelle responsable et dynamique. Avec un portefeuille de brevets de plus de 16 000 titres et plus de 450 nouveaux brevets déposés chaque année.

Le développement de la R&T passe aussi par des partenariats scientifiques avec des organismes et laboratoires de recherche français (ONERA, CNRS, Universités, Ecoles d'ingénieurs), européens et internationaux et des partenariats technologiques mis en place avec des industriels.

Safran Aircraft Engines anime ou participe à plusieurs réseaux thématiques ou clubs au sein desquels les industriels et les organismes de recherche se regroupent pour travailler sur une thématique définie selon leurs besoins. Chaque réseau se compose ensuite de groupes de travail dédiés à une thématique plus précise, aboutissant à la mise en place de projets de recherche et une identification de sources de co-financement.

Nos projets civils

 

Open-rotor

Parmi les architectures de moteurs du futur, figure le Counter Rotating Open Rotor (CROR) qui a fait l'objet d'un démonstrateur moteur complet dans le cadre du programme de recherche européen Clean Sky*. Safran Aircraft Engines qui était responsable du pilotage du projet a  mené à bien les tests au banc sol du démonstrateur. L'objectif majeur de la campagne était de valider des briques technologiques à forte valeur ajoutée telles que le système de contrôle de pas, la dynamique d'ensemble, la régulation, etc… Les apprentissages et l'ensemble des technologies ainsi validées pourront être intégrés aux architectures des moteurs du futur désormais guidées par les choix des avionneurs à horizon 2030-2035 et par l'évolution des règlementations.

*Pour en savoir plus sur Clean Sky consultez le site web du programme.

 

 

 

 

25 à 30%
de gain de carburant
comparé aux moteurs de génération actuelle
13%
du chiffre d'affaires Safran
consacrés à la R&D
+2 600
experts travaillent en R&D
 

 

UHBR

uhbr_view04.png

L'Ultra High By Pass Ratio (UHBR) est une autre architecture sur laquelle Safran Aircraft Engines mène des études. L'UHBR est une configuration de moteur à soufflante carénée à très haut taux de dilution, au-delà de 15. Les principales pièces de structures du module de soufflante intègrent des composites encore plus légers et plus robustes. Cette configuration est dotée d'une turbine basse pression optimisée grâce à l'utilisation de la conception aérodynamique 3D et de matériaux composites à matrice céramique. Un démonstrateur, appelé UHPE (Ultra High Propulsive Efficiency), dont les essais au sol sont programmés dans le cadre du projet européen Clean Sky 2, doit valider ces nouvelles briques technologiques et leur intégration dans une architecture UHBR.

Concepts moteurs futurs

Safran Aircraft Engines étudie d'autres concepts pour des horizons plus lointains (2040-2050), comme la propulsion distribuée, l'hybridation, la BLI (Boundary Layer Ingestion ou ingestion de la couche limite). Les avionneurs travaillent également sur des concepts novateurs d'avions commerciaux. Les architectures des avions et des moteurs étant intimement liées, les futurs ensembles propulsifs devront être placés à des endroits stratégiques pour obtenir le système avion-moteur le plus performant et efficient possible. Ces architectures futures de moteur seront donc choisies en collaboration étroite avec les avionneurs.Safran Aircraft Engines étudie aussi d'autres concepts pour des horizons plus lointains (2040-2050), comme la propulsion distribuée ou hybride. Les avionneurs travaillent également sur des concepts novateurs d'avions commerciaux. Les architectures des avions et des moteurs étant intimement liées, les futurs ensembles propulsifs devront être placés à des endroits stratégiques pour obtenir le système avion-moteur le plus performant et efficient possible. Ces architectures futures de moteur seront donc choisies en collaboration étroite avec les avionneurs. Un des objectifs majeurs de la R&T Safran est de développer toutes les briques technologiques nécessaires pour être en mesure de répondre aux besoins de propulsion des avionneurs lorsque le marché le demandera.

Nos projets militaires

Le développement des technologies critiques qui font la performance des moteurs d'avions et de drones de combat sont au coeur des priorités de la Recherche et Technologie pour les moteurs militaires : nouveaux matériaux résistant aux fortes températures, barrières thermiques, etc.

Le 6 février 2018, le Système de Combat Aérien du Futur (SCAF) a été lancé par la France et l'Allemagne. L'objectif est de concevoir l'avion de combat qui, à l'horizon 2035+, remplacera le Rafale et l'Eurofighter. Safran Aircraft Engines est en charge de l'intégration moteur et du développement des parties chaudes, et MTU Aero Engines a la responsabilité des parties froides et des services de maintenance et réparation. D'autres industriels européens pourront être amenés à rejoindre le programme, selon la volonté des différents pays.

Cet avion de combat de nouvelle génération devra être doté à la fois d'une forte poussée en vol supersonique et de capacités de croisière à basse vitesse pour de longues missions. Son moteur devra donc être polyvalent. Il sera compact pour une intégration et masse optimisées ; sa poussée permettra au SCAF une masse embarquée supérieure aux appareils actuellement en service. Enfin, il sera intégré de façon à ne pas compromettre la furtivité de l'avion. 

Nos projets spatiaux

Pour améliorer la compétitivité de leurs satellites sur un marché très concurrentiel, les opérateurs recherchent les solutions de propulsion les plus efficaces en termes de performance opérationnelle et de coût global (production et lancement du satellite). Les propulseurs plasmiques répondent à ce besoin en permettant d'obtenir d'importants gains de masse et de durée de vie en orbite des satellites. Ainsi, un satellite de 6 tonnes utilisant une propulsion 100% chimique verra sa masse réduite de plus de 2 tonnes par un passage intégral à la propulsion plasmique. A charge utile identique, cela induira une réduction très significative de son coût de lancement.

 

PPS®1350

 

Nos solutions innovantes

L'expertise technologique est la clé de voute de l'activité de motoriste de Safran Aircraft Engines. Grâce à l'investissement important accordé par Safran à la Recherche et au Développement (13% du chiffre d'affaires), Safran Aircraft Engines est à même de développer et de proposer à ses clients des solutions innovantes permettant d'améliorer l'efficacité opérationnelle et de réduire les coûts d'exploitation.

Des matériaux composites

Des matériaux composites plus robustes et plus légers

La solution de « tissage 3D», utilisant une structure tridimensionnelle en fibre de carbone tissée, permet de réaliser des pièces complexes en matériaux Composites à Matrice Organique (CMO), aussi solides que légères. Cette technologie est utilisée pour les aubes et les carters de soufflante du moteur LEAP, qui motorise la nouvelle génération d'avions court- et moyen-courrier d'Airbus, de Boeing et de Comac. Elle a été sélectionnée pour le carter de soufflante du GE9X, moteur de forte puissance pour le long courrier 777X. Son utilisation peut être étendue à des moteurs de moyenne, voire de faible poussée. Ses qualités en font aussi un atout majeur de long terme pour développer les moteurs à très grand taux de dilution de type UHBR/Open Rotor.

Des nouveaux alliages

Des nouveaux alliages métalliques plus performants

Le TiAl, alliage de titane et d'aluminium, est un matériau de nouvelle génération extrêmement performant : résistant à de hautes températures (750°C), il permet de diviser par deux la masse d'une aube par rapport aux alliages de nickel utilisés traditionnellement dans les turbines basse pression. Avec le moteur LEAP, il est utilisé pour la première fois au monde dans un moteur d'avion moyen-courrier. Cette technologie participe ainsi aux excellentes performances de ce nouveau moteur. 

Des nouveaux services

Des nouveaux services basés sur l'exploitation des données

Le service SFCO2 combine l'expertise d'OEM de Safran Aircraft Engines avec celle de Safran Electronics & Defense en matière de traitement avancé des données de vol. Il permet à la compagnie aérienne ou à l'opérateur de réduire ses coûts d'opération à court et à long terme, grâce à une meilleure maîtrise de la consommation de carburant et des émissions de CO2 de sa flotte.

 

 

 

Innovation participative

Pour faire émerger de nouveaux projets, Safran Aircraft Engines a mis en place des structures agiles de type Atelier Innovation Produit, Atelier Innovation Modules, Atelier Innovation R&T, Atelier Innovation Industrielle et enfin l'Atelier Innovation Services.

Safran Aircraft Engines donne aussi une grande place à la créativité de ses salariés avec l'Innovation Participative qui valorise les innovations en matière de produits, services, organisation, fonctionnement, sécurité et conditions de travail développées par les salariés.

Open Innovation

Safran Aircraft Engines renforce également son rôle de motoriste responsable en lançant des projets d'innovation collaborative, en embarquant des partenaires sélectionnés sur des challenges technologiques.

 

 

Scroll to top
Appuyer sur Entrée pour valider ou Echap pour fermer

Innovation

|

Research & Innovation

Innovation is an integral part of Safran Aircraft Engines's business as an aero-engine manufacturer. We invest heavily in innovation across the board to give our customers the highest-performance propulsion solutions on the market. Our 2,600 R,T&D experts constantly strive to develop engines that leverage innovation to enhance their performance, cost-effectiveness and environmental-friendliness. We share these goals with aircraft manufacturers and the airlines, armed forces and bizjet operators that use our engines, to continuously improve today's products and design tomorrow's.

Our goal

Research and environmental policy

In the aerospace industry, developing new technologies and reducing the environmental footprint is a major challenge with political, social and economic repercussions. Safran Aircraft Engines has long factored these concerns into all operations and aspects of an engine's lifecycle, from design and manufacture to end-of-life recycling.

At Safran Aircraft Engines, we devote a large part of our R&T budget to programs aiming to reduce the environmental impact of air transport. Much of our research is conducted in light of the objectives set by the Advisory Council for Aviation Research and Innovation in Europe (ACARE). Safran Aircraft Engines is constantly improving its products and services by introducing new technologies, with a significant margin to anticipate the environmental objectives set for aviation and help ensure it meets them. These objectives are coordinated at international level with the key players in the aviation industry, including aircraft and engine manufacturers, airlines, airports and air navigation services:

  • Safran and CFM International are represented within the Air Transport Action Group (ATAG) to help define air transport strategy and maintain our growth and competitiveness.
  • Safran Aircraft Engines is involved in the preparation and implementation of new international standards by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and is part of numerous research networks in France, Europe and worldwide.
  • Safran Aircraft Engines is also working to replace materials subject to REACH and other European regulations, which aim to replace or restrict the use of potentially harmful chemical substances produced or imported into the EU.
  • Safran Aircraft Engines is involved in and supports the development of sustainable biofuels. For example, we are partnering France's Lab'line for the Future initiative, which involves a weekly flight on the Toulouse to Paris-Orly route with an Airbus A320 using biofuel.

Our environmental policy also applies to all our industrial facilities. It aims to reduce their environmental impact by cutting energy and water consumption, processing releases, sorting and separating waste, reducing volatile organic compounds (VOC) and identifying cleaner processes as part of a continuous improvement effort backed by ISO 14001 and OHSAS 18001 certification.

 

 

Research and Innovation

Our organization

At Safran Aircraft Engines, our 2,600 research, technology and development (RTD) experts are working hard day after day to develop ever-more innovative, fuel-efficient and environmentally friendly engines. Constantly improving products today and devising even better ones for the future is an ambition we share with airlines, armed forces, aircraft manufacturers and business jet operators.

Our design offices master the most advanced technologies and proven methods, and together with our networks of experts we give customers the full benefit of our skills and expertise. We protect this vital asset by pursuing a responsible and dynamic intellectual property policy, with a portfolio of over 16,000 patents and more than 450 new patents filed every year.

Expanding our R&T programs also means pursuing scientific partnerships with research organizations and laboratories in France (ONERA, CNRS, universities, engineering schools), Europe and internationally, as well as forming technology partnerships with other industry players.

Safran Aircraft Engines leads or takes part in various subject-specific networks and clubs bringing together industrial companies and research organizations to work on areas of interest. These networks typically comprise a number of ad hoc working groups focusing on more specific topics, which then set up research projects and identify sources of joint funding. 

A worldwide portfolio of
16 000
patents
 
450
inventions patented per year, on average

Our civil aviation projects

Open Rotor

One of the most promising engine architectures of the future is the Counter Rotating Open Rotor (CROR), which is being developed as a full engine demonstrator as part of Europe's Clean Sky* research program. Safran Aircraft Engines, responsible for managing the project, has tested the demonstrator on the ground. The key objective of the test campaign was to validate the high value-added building blocks, such as the pitch control system, engine control system and overall dynamics. With all findings and technologies now validated, they can be incorporated into future engine architectures, in line with aircraft manufacturers' projected needs for 2030–35 and evolving regulations.

*To learn more about the Clean Sky program, visit the website.

 

 

25 à 30%
fuel savings compared with today's engines
 
13%
of safran's revenues invested in R&D
 
+2 600
experts involved in R&D
 

 

UHBR

uhbr_view04.png

Ultra High Bypass Ratio (UHBR) type engines are also being studied by Safran Aircraft Engines. The UHBR is a conventional shrouded turbofan type configuration, but with a much higher bypass ratio of 15:1 or more. The main parts of the fan module use even lighter and stronger composite materials. In this type of configuration, the low-pressure turbine is optimized through the use of advanced 3D aero design and ceramic matrix composites. The Ultra High Propulsive Efficiency (UHPE) demonstrator will be ground tested as part of Europe's Clean Sky 2 program and will be used to validate these new basic technologies and their integration in a UHBR architecture.

Future engine concepts

Safran Aircraft Engines is studying even longer-term concepts (for 2040–50), such as distributed propulsion, hybrid propulsion and boundary layer ingestion. At the same time, aircraft manufacturers are working on innovative commercial airliner concepts. Because aircraft and engine architectures are so closely interdependent, future propulsion systems will need to be strategically located on the airframe to achieve the highest-performance and most fuel-efficient airframe-engine combination possible. The choice of future engine architectures will be made in close collaboration with aircraft manufacturers. 

Innovation in defense applications

Developing the critical technologies underpinning the performance of engines for fighter jets and unmanned combat aerial vehicles is a top priority for our Research and Technology teams, with a particular focus on new high-temperature resistant materials, thermal barriers, etc.

On February 6, 2018, France and Germany launched the Future Combat Air System (FCAS) program. The objective is to design the New-Generation Fighter (NGF) that will replace the Rafale and Eurofighter from about 2035. Safran Aircraft Engines is in charge of integrating the engine and developing the hot sections, while MTU Aero Engines is responsible for the cold sections and services. Other European companies could join the program, depending on the decisions of the countries involved.

This next-generation combat aircraft will combine high thrust for supersonic flight with low-speed cruising capabilities for long missions. Its engine will therefore need to be highly versatile. It will be compact for optimized integration and reduced weight, while its higher thrust rating will allow the NGF to be heavier than current-generation aircraft. The engine will be integrated in a way that does not compromise the plane's stealth.

 

Innovation in space

To increase the competitiveness of their satellites in a hotly contested marketplace, operators are calling for more efficient propulsion solutions in terms of operational performance and overall cost (manufacture and launch services). Plasma propulsion meets this requirement by achieving a significant reduction in weight coupled with a longer in-orbit service life. For example, a 6 metric ton satellite with all-chemical propulsion would weigh less than 4 tons with plasma propulsion. Launch costs would therefore be significantly lower for a given payload. 

 

PPS®1350

 

Innovative solutions

At Safran Aircraft Engines, technological expertise is the cornerstone of what we do. Thanks to Safran's significant investment in research and development — some 13% of revenues — Safran Aircraft Engines is able to offer customers highly innovative solutions that help them operate more efficiently while reducing operating costs. 

Composite materials

 

Lighter, more robust composite materials

3D weaving, which forms a three-dimensional carbon fiber structure, enables us to produce complex parts in strong yet light organic matrix composites (OMC). This technology is used for the fan blades and cases on the LEAP engine, which powers the latest-generation single-aisle commercial airliners from Airbus, Boeing and Comac. It has been selected for the fan case on the huge GE9X engine designed for the Boeing 777X widebody commercial jet. Its use may also be extended to medium- or even low-thrust engines. 3D weaving will also be a real asset in the longer term for developing high-bypass engines such as the UHBR and Open Rotor.

New alloys

New, higher-performance metal alloys

Titanium aluminide (TiAl) is an advanced and extremely high-performance alloy. It features high temperature resistance (up to 750°C) and allows us to halve the weight of a fan blade, compared to the nickel alloys traditionally used in low-pressure turbines. With the LEAP, it's being employed for the first time in the world on a single-aisle airliner. This technology contributes to the new engine's excellent performance. 

New services

New data-driven services

The SFCO2 service brings together the combined OEM expertise of Safran Aircraft Engines and Safran Electronics & Defense in advanced flight data analytics. It enables airlines and operators to reduce their short- and longer-term operating costs, thanks to better management of fleet fuel consumption and CO2 emissions.

 

Employee-driven innovation

To help spawn new projects, Safran Aircraft Engines has set up agile structures, such as the Product Innovation Workshop, Module Innovation Workshop, R&T Innovation Workshop, Industrial Innovation Workshop and Services Innovation Workshop.

The idea is to promote employee creativity through participatory innovation, which fosters clever thinking in products, services, organization, operations, safety and working conditions, all driven by employees.

Open innovation

Safran Aircraft Engines is also strengthening its role as a responsible engine manufacturer by launching collaborative innovation projects involving selected partners on key technological challenges. 

 

 

Scroll to top
Hit enter to search or ESC to close